Plateau or maintaining?

download (1)

Scale wont move!!! ( google picture)THE WORST FEELING in the fitness journey is when you eat right most of the time but the numbers on the scale don’t move. Yes I do look and feel great but I need the numbers to confirm it!I know the scale is red list but trust me the urge to weigh is high most of the time. I avoid junk food and eat strictly Banting 80 % of the time. I also drink almost 3 litres of water everyday . What I have realized for the past 2 months is that I’ve either reached a plateau or I’m maintaining. I’ve lost 6 kgs in about 3 months since I started religiously following the Banting lifestyle. I’d like to lose 5 more kgs which should be easy since I seem to have gotten the hang of it but damn man , its been HEAVY.

 

POSSIBLE REASONS WHY I’VE REACHED THIS STAGE

  1. Weekend meals contain carbs
  2. Pre-menstrual cycle meals include carbs
  3. Too much dairy- I drink full cream milk ,eat full cream yogurt, cheese etc
  4. Not enough fat in my meals – its a high fat low carb  lifestyle, the body should be using fats to burn fat.
  5. I haven’t been hitting the gym as much as I used to.
  6. I recently started drinking coffee which could lead to stalling of weight-loss
  7. STRESS.  work plus school plus master-guide training plus driving myself for the first time to work (trust me anxiety all the time).

How-to-break-through-a-weight-loss-plateau

I decided to get some help from a seasoned banter Banting foodie and she advised me to do one of the following to get out of this plateau:

  1. Stop cheating or  having carbs. Comply 100% with the Banting lifestyle for a set period and see if it will cause a difference.
  2. 3 days water only fast- the fast will prompt the body to go into a deep level of ketosis and re-ignite weight loss .
  3. Cut down on dairy. it Dairy contains a lot of protein and 5% carbs which via (gluconeogenesis) turn into glucose in the body.

Now I don’t know which of the above I’ll do but trust me one of them has to occur soon to get me out of this ditch I feel I’m in. Next post will be about how OR if i manged to get out of the plateau. Comment below on how you’ve managed to get out of a plateau or any advise you have for the home girl.

Happy Banting!!🥑

 

Leave a comment